There’s a space between these sheets of life.

And shards of aching wind blow through it.

I wonder today what I can do to avoid that space.

The sheets billow with crystallized moans and cries – memories

Crystallized

It was a mutiny. They shot me.

Are you still there?

Where are the heart shaped stones we threw? 

Do you keep them in glass boxes?

I wonder what I shall do today to avoid the space.

Shall I sing or

Shall I scream or

Shall I tear into you with rhyme

Shall I commit my favorite crime?

Shadows follow me. 

So I follow them back. 

And I find you weeping.

Was I the harlot and you the widow?                                                           

Shadows following…

What shall I do to avoid the space? 

Shall I dance? 

Shall I burn papers?

 Shall I draw pictures of death?

The sheets rip back and

It leaks blood and tears and words.

And shards of aching wind blow through it.

I wonder what there is to do to avoid that space.    

Are you Pandora’s Box?

Sheets billowing…

Sweet little cries and thick rasping screeches pass through

Crystallized.

It was a mutiny.  

They shot me.

The bullet went all the way through and pierced somebody’s curtains.

Are you the hurricane or am I? 
                                                                                                                                  

Lane Katherine Eddington
                                                                                                                                   September 10, 1997

